Tags

, ,

I don’t eat much white bread. But I crave it. So I started making these simple, flavorful toasts to accompany soups, salads, pastas and dinner all around. They add that doughy, crusty, salty bit to a meal, without filling up on too much bread. Often one or two of these little salty delights are enough to satisfy my craving.

Photos by Shanda Foisy. Please give credit and a link when reposting or pinning. Merci.

For the recipe below, I sliced up the ciabatta sandwich roll I use for Justin’s lunch sandwiches, but you can use any sort of french bread, sourdough or a baguette.

I have included a recipe for the herb salt, but if you want to save time you can buy it pre-made in various flavors at Whole Foods.

Make it.

Herbes de Provence Salt

In a blender or Cuisinart combine the following
  • 2 cups sea salt, grey salt or fleur de sel
  • 3 tablespoons herbes de Provence blend
  • 1/2 teaspoon lavender flowers
  • 1/2 teaspoon fennel seed
  • 1/2 teaspoon rubbed sage

Toasts

  • Baguette, french bread or hard sourdough roll, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 Cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 TBLS Herbes de Provence Salt

Preheat broiler. Brush toasts on one side with olive oil and sprinkle with herbed salt. Place under broiler until lightly brown, but do not over crisp. You still want them a tad doughy. Serve with salads, soups, pastas and more!