Tags

, , , ,

 There is something about the thrill of the hunt.

I get a designer’s high scouring antique stores, vintage markets and second hand stores for one-of-a-kind things to refurbish for my home. I love things that have a story, even if I don’t know what that story is. A few Sundays ago, Justin and I set off to find a piece for the foyer.

Photos by Shanda Foisy

The very last aisle at a local second hand store hid this old bright blue, painted dresser. It was chipped and scuffed; and perfect.  I’d like to think it once lived in a little boy’s room; covered in robots, Lincoln Logs and dinosaur figurines.

My first instinct was to paint it white (like usual) but Justin convinced me to keep it colorful. So, we dug up some leftover French Blue paint and a dark walnut stain from the shed. I purchased new ceramic knobs from Cost Plus World Market. A couple hours and less than $50 later we had a great welcome piece for the foyer (and the drawers are nice for storage!)