Tags

, , ,

I moved around a lot as a kid. When the last box from the U-haul had be unloaded, the first room we would put together would be mine. My mom knew how important nesting was to me, even at the tender age of 6. I always became very emotionally attached to each home we lived in, so I suppose that decorating my new bedroom was my mom’s way of helping me to move on. We would pick out a comforter, hang curtains and arrange my knick knacks and stuffed animals just so.

Now that I have a home and a family of my own, one of my greatest passions is still nesting. When we purchased our home in 2009, our master bedroom was one of the last rooms I got to. It has taken a couple years, but I finally feel like it is finished… at least for now.

I made the silk tufted headboard and the linen canopy and vintage bed crown used to be in our son’s nursery. I just love the pink girly ribbon pillows from Pier 1 Imports.

 Matching vintage French end tables from my favorite antique store; Faded Elegance in Snohomish, WA. Paired with a “new old” distressed candle stick that I stumbled upon at Ross.

 

Love layering linens. By pairing a simple white lace duvet with a few solid and patterned sheets I found at a thrift shop, I was able to create a plush shabby chic bed that was comfortable, stylish, and affordable.

Bought the lamp base at Pier 1 and hand embellished a linen shade from Target. I had so much fun making this and the lamp is a great statement piece in the room.

Purchased the vintage desk from a furniture dealer named Michel at the Fremont Outdoor Market in Seattle. I replaced the plain wood knobs with clear glass ones from Cost Plus Imports. It now acts as my dressing table and provides the little bit of vanity and solitude that every hard working woman needs.

I only have so much wall space, so objects double as photos in my house. A silver dish holds a handmade matchbox from my friend Christiana’s wedding, a silver watch my mother-in-law gave me at my bridal shower and a petite gold watch that once belonged to my son’s great, great grandmother, Helen.

During a house cleaning, the glass was broken so it now frames my favorite perfumes. The “Coral” is very special as I bought it in Bermuda on our honeymoon. The beads were passed down to me a few years ago by my mom. My grandma bought them in Eurpoe circa 1960

The closet doors are refinished in my “Signature Farmhouse Finish” ;-)

The ornate distressed fan and light covers from Anthropologie add some nice subtle details.

Another piece I purchased from Michel. An old cabinet turned jewelry box thanks to some hooks and chicken wire.

Collected second hand frames refinshed in Heirloom white. Photos of our travels to Europe and a set of French chair prints from Etsy.