Tags

Greetings from the soggy Northwest, where 1 in 3 people are currently battling a nasty cold. It hit our house at the worst time since Justin is in Brazil on business this week. Little Sage was nice enough to share it with me, and we have been in survival mode ever since. Justin feels helpless that he isn’t here to nurse us back to health so he sent his love and two dozen beautiful roses yesterday. My good friend Angela also showed up yesterday and made me a hot whiskey toddy to ease my throat and my nerves (chasing a busy toddler around while you are sick is pure domestic torture.)

In fear of me actually keeling over and dying, my sister Gretchen drove down from the San Juans to lend a hand until Justin returns. Comfort food is in order. She is making homemade chicken soup as I write and later we are going to harvest the beets from my garden and make a mushroom and beet green gratin. Meanwhile, I am curled up by the kitchen window, sipping on my favorite winter tea. Stay healthy my friends.20121114-100006.jpg

Comforting Ginger, Lemon and Honey Tea

8 oz boiling water
2 lemon slices
3 slices fresh ginger
1 TSP honey
Fresh Mint (optional)

Crush the ginger and lemon slices in the bottom of the mug. Add boiling water and stir in honey. Breathe in the steam, sip, and let the natural medicine work it’s magic.